When emotional growth creeps up and grabs you by the throat.

Something happened that left me looking sideways and I was completely annoyed.

I stewed on it overnight and gave myself every rational angle on why I was justified in being annoyed.

I awakened with a funky attitude just waiting for the wrong thing to be said by the wrong person.

I got in my car and began thinking that maybe this person should feel a dose of their own medicine so they could see what I felt and then I stopped short mid thought and began questioning where my own motives were coming from and was it worth the angst and who would it serve long term for the short time feeling of teaching a lesson. I began dissecting what this person fully meant to my life and that we all make mistakes and in the grand scheme of things, this wasn’t that big of a deal.

Wait- what?  Did I JUST behave maturely? Was I choosing to use emotional intelligence in a way that would bring solutions instead of an argument because my language mattered? 

Yes indeed.

And my soul thanked me for recognizing the shift for the first time solidly even as I spend my life always seeking to be a part of the solution and not the problem.

I gave myself a mental pat on the back and resolved to be a part of making things smooth again. And I did. And it worked out beautifully.

Our emotional growth is dictated by these shifts in our psyche from time to time. We choose our joys and sorrows through our patterns of behavior and staying steeped in what was always comfortable of us to do, means we never move beyond that comfort zone of mediocrity.

always challenge yourselves to do and be better.

Dueces and mad love,

DivA.

About lawfultrainer

Passionate Educator on all things but especially family partnerships. Determined. Driven.

Posted on November 13, 2016, in Ifestyle, Life coaching, Mental health, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

