Ima need you to unpack that rat sir…

The other day, I saw what could only be described as a shiny new toy in our basement and wondered who it belonged to  because it  couldn’t be ours. So I asked mister.
Me: babe, is that a weed whacker I see downstairs? Does it belong to our landscaper?

Him: no it’s ours.

Me: how sway? When I first got here, the weeds were taller than me in the back yard (no exaggeration) and the front was a disaster. I have never seen you touch, pluck or move a Blade of nature. What sense does that make?

Him: if memory serves me, it just needed a long cord and there is nothing wrong with it.

Me: but you are not using it so why do we have it again?

Him: it’s brand new.

Me: from 10 years ago and never used. Give it away.

Him: you know I can be a pack rat. I keep thinking I may need stuff down the road.

Me: I’m going to need you to unpack your rat because this house is void of your junk and it will stay that way if you want peace on earth.

Him: give me a week. If I haven’t figured out what to do with it, then we can get rid of it.
Lord have mercy. Did I say he was HIGHLY allergic to pollen? I have never seen him cutting grass etc as a direct result so I am stumped on why there is a weed whacker holding up a corner like glorified trash! I could feel him bristling at the thought of not keeping this thing he may never use but that’s how we start a collection of things we don’t need and an occasional purging is healthy for my mind and his body.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Speaking of trash- my husband and I keep having this one sided debate about it and who should take it to the curb on disposal days.

I see nothing wrong with dragging it to the curb but he is adamant that he will do it the night before.
Slight problem.

 He usually gets home so late that he’s dragging himself and while he takes all the trash he can find out, he usually misses a can or two. 
Last week, he missed them all.

My side eye on stun

So what is a sister to do? Keep in mind that I have lifted barns, helped to pull a plane and all other sundry of things but in THIS house, he believes it’s one of his roles because he doesn’t want me handling the trash cans.
I need someone to gently hold his hands and bring him into this century but in the meantime, I made an executive decision and dragged what is now two weeks worth of garbage out to the curb.
I’m praying he says nothing beyond thank you so I can keep my “I was ONLY trying to help YOU buddy!” Attitude firmly in checkπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
When he’s home and can take it out, by all means but I’m not helpless and this is one less thing he has to consider if I make it home before him.
That’s what marriage is all about right? Collaboration, picking up the slack, not counting roles and supporting  each ther.

I keep telling you all- this isn’t for punks so stay the course and don’t get distracted by the little things. Like trash.

Deuces and mad love,

Diva

About lawfultrainer

Passionate Educator on all things but especially family partnerships. Determined. Driven.

Posted on October 14, 2016, in Debates, family, laughter, love, marriage, men, Mental health, Relationship, Women, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

