The day the “petty” purple one left us..Lawd!!

April 21st 2016 began with my jumping into the divamobile at the ungodly hour of 5 a.m. and as I pointed it towards the gym, my music shuffled to Prince and his iconic song “Kiss.”

I pumped up the volume and screeched right along with him and walked into the gym doing a jig. 

I LOVE me some Prince. 

No. I need you to fully grasp this.

I LOVE ME SOME PRINCE.

So while the folks in the gym cracked up laughing at me, I didn’t care because as far as I was concerned, the day began just right.

So around 2 that afternoon when the first of many text messages came in that asked if I had heard about Prince, a sense of foreboding washed over my entire being and with shaking hands, I googled his name.

I wasn’t ready for the headlines that screamed he had died.

 I dropped my phone, the tears began and I was inconsolable for what became months. My children and husband all called worried and I couldn’t form the words beyond sobbing. My friends who knew what this meant for me got in their cars and began ringing my doorbell.

Chile, I was just devastated!

I discovered Prince as a teenager and while I like every other child in the eighties, enjoyed Michael Jackson, Prince was so different and his music so lyrically conscious, he quickly became my favorite of the two.

My momma thought he was a confused cross dresser and the devil so when I was given a cassette tape of purple rain and played it all damn day, it disappeared without warning and I decided when I became an adult, I would own anything Prince pushed out.

I did too. 

When my first marriage ended and he took all the Prince music we enjoyed together, I made it my mission not to allow that to happen again. Princes music calmed my soul and made me feel it was okay to be different and to explore those differences with boldness as a woman who kept getting consistent messages that my voice should be tempered.

So there I sat on April 21st, all lost in the sauce and that evening, One of my friends Jacine, inadvertently began the healing garden when she rang my doorbell and offered a bunch of purple plants to help me.

I went the very next day and bought a bunch of tools, dirt, plants and began with the help of two friends, to turn over the very dry and weed filled patch of ground my husband ignored for 20 years.. this was the beginning of that garden

Friends began donating purple perennials among other things and the next thing I knew, the garden became this!


I had Princes music in rotation for months as I weeded and watered with love!! I have since transplanted those beautiful annuals into pots and given them away to friends in preparation for winter so I feel like his death was not in vain.

Not to be be outdone, my husband went online and immediately booked a flight for me to go visit Paisley park in Minneapolis and I believe that cathartic solo  journey, helped to heal my soul in more ways than ten!  I rented a bug and the first thing I did was find his studio and home. I was  not ready for the display of love and tributes I found. See for yourself


I was so incredibly TOUCHED and felt so healed knowing so many people Were impacted by him. I sat out there for HOURS watching people show up and had conversations with strangers about how they became Prince fans 


One would think that was enough for me right?

Nope.

I spent the next two days visiting his childhood home, high school, the place where he filmed parts of purple rain, drove to Lake Minnetonka and dipped my feet in and found a guy that was making Prince gear I could buy. I even went to the Hard Rock Cafe in the Mall Of America to see the donated outfits of his they had on Display. I was on a mission that was everything Prince!

​​

What a journey that was!! I took that sojourn in early May and have been collecting all his music and magazine covers with him since.

Did I say I loved that dude??

It’s now six months later, and when I learned his estate was opening for tours, a friend and I booked our tickets and so I will share that another time.

I look back now and realized I was able to turn his death into a beautiful Giving garden while gaining peace in my soul.

We Aren’t going to live forever so what are you doing to leave an impact between your birth and death? It may not be on the scale of a Prince because he was truly a special Soul Who found his purpose  and walked fully in it come hell or high water.

I didn’t cook for months but I’m back to myself. Sort of. I think my husband is over my saying this- “Prince died man! The end! I ain’t doing nothing right now!” 😂😂😂😂

Thank you for walking this journey with me as I shared. For the die hard Prince fans out here- I feel you.  Hang in there. The petty one would expect no less.

About lawfultrainer

Passionate Educator on all things but especially family partnerships. Determined. Driven.

Posted on October 11, 2016, in history, love, music, Prince, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

