The Fly, RGIII and me….

I woke up this morning inexplicably sad with no real reason for feeling the way I was…. or so I thought.  It is New Year’s Eve and all around in social media, folks are making resolutions  and reviewing the highlights of 2012,  such that it was for them. In my head, there was a ton of things swirling; family, work, activism, mentoring and in some weird kind of way, I  felt so much more had to be done and it became overwhelming in the moment.  I was fine until my better half asked if I was okay and the flood gates opened.

To his credit, he held me until I was spent and slowly began to unravel what was happening to cause this meltdown on what was otherwise a good day.  As we talked, I became  incredibly present to some truths which made me feel better, so off I went to take a shower and prepare to face the rest of this year.  On the floor of the tub, squirming and working valiantly against the blazing hot water, was a fly who was  against all odds, making progress slowly out of the hot stream even as the water kept trying to sweep it away.  As crazy as this may sound, I understood how that fly was feeling as I replayed some of the events of this year in my head and while the water eventually washed him down the drain, his effort did not go unnoticed or unappreciated.

When I headed downstairs, I saw what looked like a scruffy teenager speaking on ESPN and asked  who in the world was that to which I got this reply; ” RGIII the infamous Redskins Quarterback.”  Here was a young man who in my estimation, looked no larger than a scrappy puppy, yet there he stood, a well respected leader among his team and many others around the country due to his humility and committment to hard work. The Universe used both the fly and RGIII to remind me of a few truths that somehow slipped away for a moment;

  • We may not fit the mold of what people consider to be acceptable as a leader but don’t stop doing what is good and right.
  • Life is often filled with hot water moments, day, weeks and sometimes months; how we choose to navigate those waters will make the difference between long term  survival and being washed down the drain.
  • Hard work ALWAYS pays off in the end so no matter how people may try to derail you, remember that as you set your face to the often brutal winds of naysayers filled with malcontent.
  • We may sometimes feel lonley on this journey but the truth is, we are never alone.  Prayer works.
  • Collaboration with others is the key to not only surviving but thriving… too often, we make the mistake of believing we are the only ones that can get things done a certain way but no one makes it to the top alone and several heads and talents combined are always better than one.
  • Work smarter, not harder….

Like many of you, this year has been a journey of incredible highs and a few mind numbing lows but through it all, I remember that love and guidance abounds and each day, I resolve to be a little better than the one before.  I am not one for resolutions as a direct result and that is ok too.  Near the end of our heartfelt discussion, my better half said this to me: ” You are the Earth of stability that many look to as they grow, the Wind that keeps us all elevated inspite of ourselves and the Fire that will scorch us into renewal if all else fails. My role as your mate is to be the sound anchor that keeps you afloat and I always will”  On that note, Happy New Year to you all and may you find peace, blessings and growth as you traverse through each day of 2013..

Enough Said.

About lawfultrainer

Passionate Educator on all things but especially family partnerships. Determined. Driven.

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

